Isaac Hayes - Tough Guys

Band/Record: Isaac Hayes - Tough Guys

Label/Matrix: US 1974 Enterprise ENS 7504

Condition Record/Sleeve: EX+/EX

Extra Info: Fantastic Album !! Original US press LP on Enterprise ... EX+ dream audio .... RARE !!

One of the greatest things that a musical genius could do is to compose a movie soundtrack. This was done by many artists in the 1970′s, artists like Quincy Jones, Curtis Mayfield, and of course Roy Ayers. When most of these jazz, soul, funk masters incorporated their musical talents into the realm of film, the results were always fantastic, and Isaac Hayes‘ score and composition to the film Three Tough Guys is no different.
Isaac Hayes is known for his smooth soulful ballads and his extremely deep voice, but his skills as a composer is what makes him most impressive. What is also worth noting when discussing Isaac Hayes is that his music is not limited to soul, and the Tough Guys soundtrack is a testament to that.

Throughout the soundtrack, Isaac shows his versatility by featuring songs that cover multiple genres, but what makes this soundtrack stand out from most of Isaac’s other works is that there is a heavy jazz sound that permeates many of the compositions. There is a great deal of improvisation and soloing on many songs, and others have a steady swing that can be identified as a jazzy sound. Other songs have his trademark soul and funk breaks, and while Isaac is a more than accomplished vocalist, he doesn’t do much singing on this album.

KILLER album and remains faithful to his "Shaft funk sound". "Joe Bell" is one of the best tracks on the LP.
OOH Yeah, "Hung up on my Baby" oozes funk! In fact, the Ghetto Boys sampled this beat on their hit "My mind is playin' tricks on me." Good Stuff ....

1. Title Theme
2. Randolph & Dearborn
3. The Red Rooster
4. Joe Bell
5. Hung Up On My Baby
6. Kidnapped Lis
7. Run Fay Run
8. Buns O' Plenty
9. End Game
10. Main Title 'Truck Turner'
11. House Of Beauty
12. Blue's Crib
13. Drinving In The Sun