The Stooges - The Weirdness your online record shop for mint and rare vinyl records. your online record shop for mint and rare vinyl your online record shop for mint and rare vinyl records.

Band/Record: The Stooges - The Weirdness

Label/Matrix: US 2007 Virgin VRN 64648

Condition Record/Sleeve: Mint-/Mint- (still sealed)

Extra Info: Fantastic 2LP Album !! Very rare vinyl pressing .... was issued in limited number on vinyl !!

The Weirdness is the fourth studio album by influential American hard rock band The Stooges.

The album features founding members Iggy Pop (vocals), Ron Asheton (guitar), and Scott Asheton (drums) along with new band member Mike Watt (bass guitar, formerly of Minutemen) and returning guest musician Steve Mackay (saxophone, who appeared on the Stooges' 1970 album, Fun House.) It is the first studio album of new material the Stooges have released since Raw Power (1973), and is also the final album to feature Ron Asheton, who died in early 2009.

The album was recorded by Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio studio in Chicago, Illinois during October 2006, and was mastered at Abbey Road Studios in London, England in December of that same year.[1] Watt posted a day-by-day diary of the recording sessions on his website, but this was deleted without explanation. Watt referred to the album's title as Secret Plan in his diary entries.

According to Watt's online diary, the songs recorded during the sessions included a finalized version of "My Idea of Fun" (first heard on the live CD Telluric Chaos) and a cover of The Beatles' "I Wanna Be Your Man" (more faithful to the Rolling Stones version), while a November 20 article on the album, derived mainly from an interview with Pop, also gives the following song titles as appearing on the album: "Trollin'", "ATM", "You Can't Have Friends,", "The Weirdness" and "Greedy Awful People." Further titles were announced in December after the album was mastered, and the final track listing was announced by Virgin Records on January 30, 2007.

Two singles for "My Idea of Fun" and "Free & Freaky" were released on the iTunes Music Store on February 20, 2007.

The album was also released as a vinyl LP with four bonus tracks.

"My Idea of Fun" was performed on the reality show Bam's Unholy Union when Bam Margera married girlfriend Missy Rothstein in the final episode at their wedding party in 2007.

   1. "Trollin'" (3:05)
   2. "You Can't Have Friends" (2:22)
   3. "ATM" (3:15)
   4. "My Idea of Fun" (3:17)
   5. "The Weirdness" (3:45)
   6. "Free & Freaky" (2:39)
   7. "Greedy Awful People" (2:07)
   8. "She Took My Money" (3:48)
   9. "The End of Christianity" (4:19)
  10. "Mexican Guy" (3:29)
  11. "Passing Cloud" (4:04)
  12. "I'm Fried" (3:44)

Bonus tracks

  13. "O Solo Mio" (Japanese edition and Vinyl edition-only Bonus Track)
  14. "Claustrophobia" (Vinyl edition-only Bonus Track)
  15. "I Wanna Be Your Man" - Lennon/McCartney (iTunes and Vinyl edition-only Bonus Track)
  16. "Sounds of Leather" (Vinyl edition-only Bonus Track)